Restaurant Review: Shizen Vegan Sushi

In the beginning of this vegan journey, I would visit my friends and family back home and they would constantly ask me, “what? You don’t eat fish?”

Fish is technically animal protein, so vegans and most vegetarians avoid it. But boy, do I miss sushi! So, it was very exciting when Shizen Sushi Bar opened up in San Francisco with an ALL VEGAN sushi menu! The atmosphere is gorgeous with a wood beam vaulted ceiling and big windows that let all the light in.

 

Everything on the menu is delicious, but below are a few of my favorites.

Flying Colors
Asparagus tempura, cucumber, avocado, cherry tomato, and pumpkin

This one is my favorite! I love the tomatoes sprinkled across the top. They give the sushi a nice sweetness. There is also a great vinegar reduction sauce, yum!

The Candlestick
Spicy bean curd, avocado, tapioca, cucumber, seaweed pearls, and fire.

I’m always a fan of fire at the table. On top of this being a delicious roll, the side of fire adds a bit of flare. Spicy bean curd and tapioca! What a great combo.

Proud Peacock
Cucumber, avocado, shiitake, eggplant, tofu, pickled mango, roasted peppers, and seaweed pearls

After this roll, I decided that we should add picked mango on everything. When I went home, I started brainstorming ways to pickle mango in bulk and always have it on hand for sandwiches and Asian dishes. Yummy yummy!

We highly recommend this spot. Next time we go, we’ll take more pictures (and order more food. Yes!)

5-spoons-hi
Five Golden Spoons
Shizen Vegan Sushi Bar & Izakaya
370 14th St, San Francisco, CA 94103

 

 

Leave a Reply

